Share
| All Events >
Jordan Stump is one of the leading translators of innovative French literature. The recipient of numerous honors and prizes, he has translated books by Nobel laureate Claude Simon, Jean-Philippe Toussaint, and Eric Chevillard, as well as Jules Verne’s French-language novel The Mysterious Island. His translation of NDiaye’s All My Friends was shortlisted for the French-American Foundation Translation Prize.
Author
Imani Perry is the Hughes-Rogers Professor of African American Studies at Princeton University. Her most recent book is Breathe: A Letter to My Sons.
September 17, 2020 | 4:30pm

鲁能新外援

Virtual Event

4:30 pm PT | 5:30 pm MT | 6:30 pm CT |?7:30 pm ET

Jordan Stump joins Imani Perry to present Marie NDiaye’s That Time of Year. Co-presented by Community Bookstore.

This event will take place on Zoom. Register on Community Bookstore’s website. And while you’re there, order a copy of the book.

About That Time of Year:

Herman’s wife and child are nowhere to be found, and the weather in the village, perfectly agreeable just days earlier, has taken a sudden turn for the worse. Tourist season is over. It’s time for the vacationing Parisians, Herman and his family included, to abandon their rural getaways and return to normal life. But where has Herman’s family gone? Concerned, he sets out into the oppressive rain and cold for news of their whereabouts. The community he encounters, however, has become alien, practically unrecognizable, and his urgent inquiry, placed in the care of local officials, quickly recedes into the background, shuffled into a deck of labyrinthine bureaucracy and local custom. As time passes, Herman, wittingly and not, becomes one with a society defined by communal surveillance, strange traditions, ghostly apparitions, and a hospitality that verges on mania.

A literary horror story about power and assimilation, That Time of Year marks NDiaye once again as a contemporary master of the psychological novel. Working in the spirit of Leonora Carrington, Victor LaValle, and Kōbō Abe, NDiaye’s novel is a nightmarish vision of otherness, privilege, and social amnesia, told with potent clarity and a heady dose of the weird

Contact:
Leslie-Ann Woofter
415.512.8812
Jordan Stump is one of the leading translators of innovative French literature. The recipient of numerous honors and prizes, he has translated books by Nobel laureate Claude Simon, Jean-Philippe Toussaint, and Eric Chevillard, as well as Jules Verne’s French-language novel The Mysterious Island. His translation of NDiaye’s All My Friends was shortlisted for the French-American Foundation Translation Prize.
Author
Imani Perry is the Hughes-Rogers Professor of African American Studies at Princeton University. Her most recent book is Breathe: A Letter to My Sons.